2021/22 Ghana Premier League season to be launched today

The 2021/2022 League season will be officially launched today Tuesday October 26 at the GFA Secretariat in Accra. 

The event will be held at the GFA Conference room at 11am.

Tuesday’s launch will usher in the 2021/22 Ghana Premier League season which will kick off on Friday October 29 as well as other competitions organized by the GFA including the MTN FA Cup, DOL, Womens League, Women’s FA Cup etc.

The launch will be live on Max TV and all GFA Social Media platforms.

The official event, will have the top hierarchy of the GFA, distinguished guests and members of the football fraternity in attendance.

The GFA has extended an invitation to all media to cover the event.

Newly promoted side Accra Lions will open the 2021/22 Premier League with a home fixture against Elmina Sharks at the Accra Sports stadium on Friday, October 29, 2021.

The Ghana Premier League has adopted the five substitution rule for the upcoming 2021/22 season after reaching an agreement the Premier League clubs.

This rule will be in place for the entire 2021/22 season which is set to commence on Friday, October 29, 2021 and run through to Sunday, June 19, 2022.


  • 5 Substitutions introduced – 3 chances to make the 5 subs
  • Match Day squad up from 18 to 20 players
  • Clubs now allowed 9 subs on the bench from 7
  • Clubs allowed to register up to 40 players – 10 of the 40 must be below age 17

Dreams FC will host Asante Kotoko at the Accra Sports stadium on Saturday, October 30. The Still Believe lads have been moved to Accra because their home grounds require more work to be in shape following the disruption caused when their venue hosted the Eatern Regional Division Two Middle League game between between Okwahu United and Kweabibirem FC.

League Champions Accra Hearts of Oak will begin the defence of their title with a home tie against Legon Cities in Accra. The battle between Coach Samuel Boadu and Maxwell Konadu is scheduled for 3pm kick off at the Accra Sports stadium.

18 Premier League Clubs will participate in this year’s competition.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button